Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research
Royal Netherlands
Institute for Sea Research


NIOZ is composed of four research and two supporting departments. The institute is managed by our director and management team (MT), supervised by the Foundation Board NWO-I, and advised by an Institute Advisory Committee (IAC), an Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) and the Works Council.

Management, Board and SAC

NIOZ basic structure
Organogram NIOZ organisation

Support Departments and Management Office

NIOZ staff functions are organised in two support departments and a management office:

Dept. National Marine Facilities (NMF) - Aarnoud van de Burgt

NMF units:

Dept. General Support (GES)Peter Smit

GES units:

Management office - prof. dr. Han Dolman

Browse the full list of NIOZ staff.