Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research


The Foundation Board of NWO-I supervises and advises the institute

Since January 1, 2018, Royal NIOZ is merged with NWO-I, together with the other NWO institutes AMOLF, ARCNL, ASTRON, DIFFER, Nikhef, CWI, NSCR and SRON. These institutes are governed by a single board, the foundation board of NWO-I. The NWO-I foundation board forms a personal union with the NWO executive board, which means both boards consist of the same people. The NWO-I office (located in Utrecht) supports NIOZ in the area of financial management, strategy, communication, legal affairs and personnel.

The Board of the Dutch Research Council (NWO) consists of:

  • Prof dr Marcel Levi | president NWO
  • Drs Caroline Visser | vice President and Portfolio holder Operations and Finances
  • Prof Arfan Ikram | president ZonMw
  • Prof dr Jan de Boer | chair NWO domain Science
  • Prof dr ir Margot Weijnen | chair NWO Domain Applied and Engineering Sciences
  • Prof Hans de Bruijn | acting chair NWO Domain Social Sciences and Humanities
  • Vacancy | chair NWO Domain Social Sciences and Humanities